aauuugh why

Nov. 9th, 2008 10:00 pm
wefeelgroove: (D:!)
[personal profile] wefeelgroove
Proper update coming soon, but first I have to freak out! Mom cleaned my room top to bottom while I was gone. For the record, my room has been a disaster area for a while because work and school has eaten a lot of my time and I have had no desire to give it a proper cleaning. BREAKING NEWS: I'm lazy and a procrastinator!

She went through the piles of stuff on my desk, she totally scrubbed down my bathroom (which I haven't cleaned in two weeks and it was already grody-looking), she rearranged stuff, she dusted and I never dust, just FYI.

IT LOOKS GREAT. HOWEVER, I feel like an idiot for letting it get this bad and leaving it for her to deal with. EVEN THOUGH SHE DIDN'T HAVE TO. I dunno. Sometimes I think Mom has a "if you want it done right do it yourself" mentality because EVERYTIME she cleans the house and I offer to help, she always says she doesn't need it. Like the time she cleaned our garage entirely by herself even though I pestered her like every hour to help and she wouldn't let me. And now that I skip off to a con for weekend she breezes in and completely cleans my room, even though she told me WE were ALL going to clean rooms before Thanksgiving and the holidays, etc etc. Way to make me feel like an irresponsible 8th grader again! And in retrospect, I should have known she was going to do this.

And of course I got a lecture about how she doesn't have time to clean up after me anymore (THEN WHYYYY DID YOU DO IT WHEN I WASN'T HOME AND COULDN'T DO IT MYSELF OR AT LEAST HELP YOU AND KEEP YOU OUT OF MY STUFF)

There's a simple explanation for this, of course. My mom is turning into my grandmother. My grandmother isn't happy unless she has a house to clean- she cleans OUR HOUSE when she visits.

...which probably means I'll end up like this someday too! I just hope I don't guilt trip my imaginary future kids when I do it.

At least I had my sketchbooks with me so she couldn't look through those. *paranoid*

I am SO embarassed right now. I've seriously overstayed my welcome here and I need to GTFO. Unfortunately, with school and work like it is now, I'm stuck here until April AT LEAST.

(no subject)

Date: 2008-11-10 05:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katon.livejournal.com
Hooray for moving out!

(no subject)

Date: 2008-11-11 06:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mansionmaniac.livejournal.com
I'd consider that a pain in the ass, personally.

I clean my room from time to time, I've been doing much better recently, not letting clothes and dishes pile up on the floor, keeping surface areas nice and clean. But if my mom came into my room and did the whole top-to-bottom thing, I'd get seriously pissed off. I appreciate my privacy greatly more than an extra hand cleaning my room without my knowledge.

And yeah, my mom does that crap too, where she has to clean everything by herself, and no one else can do it because they're not going to do it the way she wants it done. Which is an even GREATER pain in the ass because SHE'S a procrastinator. It's taken her FOUR YEARS to replace the tub in our bathroom alone. So yeah, I'm hoping to move out in the very near future, myself.

Profile

wefeelgroove: (Default)
wefeelgroove

July 2020

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags